What’s new about 2017?

Every single year, before a new year begins, there are bound to be a lot of hype and celebrations. What’s new right? Just like Christmas Day, Valentine’s Day, Chinese New Year, there will be a lot of celebrations going on. However, these celebrations update on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, Whatsapp are starting to annoy me.

Nope, wait, please don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate festivals. In fact I really do love all these festivals because not only does it add life and vibrant to a dull city like Singapore, it also allows people to come together and bond over a meal or little activities.

However, it is how people perceive and celebrate the year that kind of annoys me a little.

On the day before New Year Day, just logged onto Facebook and you see many many many posting about their celebration and how thankful of how they are of 2016 and how they hope for better in 2017. This is quite weird to me actually. Shouldn’t people be thankful for whatever they have everyday? This is just my opinion, because every single day, I wake up feeling full of gratitude of whatever is given to me. You don’t actually have to wait till one day before a new year to feel the blessing you had all along right? I don’t really actually know what is the legit difference between 31 December 2016 and 1 January 2017; other than the fact that the Earth has revolved around the Sun for 365.5 days (which cannot be really felt??).

Also, once the clock strike 12 on the 1 Jan 2017, I suddenly receive an influx of New Year greetings. Most of my friends will be like Happy 2017, or hope that 2017 will be good to you… Honestly, I find it quite dumb. I am sorry and Yes, I do understand that my friends mean well in their message, but just think of it, a year will never change unless a person change. I get really annoyed when people wish for a good year, and not a good/better attitude to deal with a new year. The act of sending greeting through texts, other than adding on to the Festive feels, I have no idea what other meanings does the message signifies, because the conversation usually stops at the greeting.

It seems like the way most people celebrate Festivals these day is just a very plastic and superficial act. Social media has indeed made our lives easier, but perhaps, made many of our hearts more distant than ever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

